Map_Sriharikota

If you want to see a rocket launch in India, this is the place where most of them are launched. It is located 80km north of Chennai, in Andhra Pradesh. Seeing a rocket launch has always been one of my dreams, but I wasn’t thinking of doing this in India.

Sriharikota (2)
The board that started this all

What started this was a sign that I saw in Gudiwada, where my in-laws live. This board was in Telugu, but I could recognize a rocket and the ISRO name (Indian Space Research Organisation). I sent this to a former colleague in France knowing he would be interested and he answered with all the details of a launch happening a few days later. So I organized, and decided to go. It was a long trip, about 430km, but I was motivated. Driving at night was one of the things I feared most in India, but it went quite smoothly. I left around 4:30pm and reached early morning at 1:00am. The launch was planned early in the morning, and unlike many things in India, the launch can’t be delayed.

Sriharikota (3)
Salt when the lake is dry

So I reached and, as I couldn’t find a hotel at that time I decided to sleep in the car, not too far from the launch site. There are few websites that explain where to watch the launch from. So I’ll try to summarize what I found. Unless you get invited and can enter the base, you’ll have to watch it from outside, but that still leaves you with a good view. You’ll find a map below showing you where you can go to watch the launch. You can bring binoculars that can help.

The road that you’ll get on to is dirt, but quite OK to drive. Depending on the season, it’ll be surrounded by water, with flamingoes, or dry with salt. If it is dry you can go down by foot and walk towards the island.

Sriharikota (4)
Road to watch launch

If you’re planning to take pictures, look at when the launch is planned (you can go on ISRO’s facebook page which is regularly updated – link below). When the launch is planned in the morning, you’ll have the sun in your face (you’re facing east) and your pictures won’t look great. That’s what happened to me. Night launches are nice to watch, but the ones happening in the evening, just before sunset seem to be perfect. If the lake is full, you’ll even get the reflection of the launch on the lake. With the sun in your back, it can’t get better. I hope I’ll get to go back some day.

Sriharikota (1)

Finally, once the launch is over, you can always go to the space center. In front of it, you’ll have models of the two main rockets India launches (PSLV, GSLV). You can also take some time to do bird watching. After all, it is a bird sanctuary. Unfortunately, I had to head back home fast but next time I’ll make a full review of the sanctuary.

Few links:


 

Si vous souhaitez assister à un lancement de fusée en Inde, c’est là que vous devez vous rendre. Sriharikota est situé à 80km au nord de Chennai, dans l’Andhra Pradesh. J’avais toujours rêvé de voir un lancement, mais je n’ai jamais pensé assister à cela en Inde.

C’est un pur hasard qui m’a amené ici. Tout est parti d’un panneau que j’ai croisé à Gudiwada, là où habitent mes beaux-parents. Tout était en Télougou, mais on pouvait bien voir une fusée et le logo de l’ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation). J’ai envoyé une photo à un ancien collègue, sachant que cela l’intéresserait. Il m’a rapidement répondu en me donnant toutes les infos sur un lancement à venir. Du coup, je me suis dis que je pourrai y aller. Il y avait environ 430km à faire, mais j’étais motivé. J’avais un peu peur de conduire de nuit, mais tout s’est assez bien passé. Départ vetrs 16h30 je suis arrivé en pleine nuit vers 1 heure du matin. Le lancement était prévu le matin assez tôt, et contrairement à beaucoup de choses en Inde, l’horaire est stricte.

Je suis donc arrivé de nuit, et ne trouvant pas d’hôtel, j’ai dormi dans la voiture, pas trop loin du pas de tir. Il y a peu de sites qui donnent des infos sur l’endroit où observer le lancement. Alors je vais résumer ce que j’ai trouvé. A moins d’avoir une invitation pour rentrer sur le site du lancement, il est possible de le voir de l’extérieur.  On a tout de même une très bonne vue. J’ai mis une carte au dessus avec le lieu où l’on peut se positionner pour observer le lancement. La route est en terre, mais d’assez bonne qualité pour rouler en voiture. Pas besoin de 4×4. En fonction de la saison, vous pourrez avoir de l’eau autour avec des flamands rose,  ou alors sec avec du sel au fond. Si c’est sec, il est possible de se rapprocher un peu à pied.

Si vous avez prévu de prendre des photos, regardez à quelle heure est prévu le lancement (en regardant la page facebook de l’ISRO, régulièrement mise à jour). Faisant face à l’Est, lorsque le lancement est prévu le matin, on se retrouve face au soleil et les photos ne seront pas terribles. C’était mon cas. Apparemment les lancements de nuits sont intéressants, mais le mieux serait ceux ayant lieux en soirée. Et lorsque le lac est plein, on peut voir le reflet de la fusée dans l’eau. Avec le soleil dans le dos, c’est l’idéal. J’ai hâte d’y retourner un jour.

Enfin, lorsque le lancement est terminé (1 minute), vous pouvez faire un tour à l’entrée du site spatial où sont exposées des modèles réduits des deux principales fusées que l’Inde lance (PSLV et GSLV). Il est également possible d’observer les oiseaux puisqu’il y a une réserve ornithologique. Je n’avais pas trop de temps mais je ferai de nouveaux articles lorsque j’y retournerai.

Quelques liens:

